A Guide to Car Accident Settlements and Lawsuits in Maryland

If you are the victim of a car accident in the state of Maryland, there are certain laws that could have an impact on any resulting legal actions or insurance claims you file. Experienced Attorney, Douglas Sachse, outlines these regulations and describes steps individuals can take to ensure that they obtain the compensation they are due.

It can be difficult to estimate the damages that result from a car collision. Chronic injuries that may not at first be evident may become more of a burden over time. Car repairs and replacements are also at times difficult to approximate. You may end up paying a substantial amount of money out of pocket to cover unanticipated expenses. For these reasons, it may be tempting to wait to file a claim until you are sure of the cost. If you are a Maryland resident—and have the misfortune of being involved in a car accident—there are several key legal areas that you should quickly familiarize yourself with prior to pursuing legal damages.

In regards to personal injury as well as vehicle damages claims, Maryland places a three-year statute of limitations on filing a case in civil court, starting from the date of the car accident. Even if you plan on settling your claim out of court, you should keep this time frame in mind.

Another legal requirement to keep in mind is Maryland’s required auto insurance minimums. Drivers must carry at least a $30,000 insurance policy on single-person accidents, at least $60,000 for accidents involving multiple people, and a property damage policy of $15,000. You are also required to have protection against uninsured or underinsured motorists. If you do not meet the insurance requirements outlined by the state at the time of your accident, you may be unable to successfully argue your case.

If you are the victim of a car accident in the state of Maryland, and are considering filing a claim against the other motorist or motorists involved, you should hire an experienced car accident law attorney as soon as possible. An experienced attorney will be familiar with Maryland’s laws governing when cases should be filed, and will advise you on the amount of damages to request and the next steps to take in your case.

If you have been a victim of a car accident or would like to speak with an experienced auto accident attorney, call the law offices of Douglas T. Sachse today.

Recent News

| Individuals who injure themselves in a slip-and-fall incident on a storeowner’s property may seek recourse against the store under certain Read More

| Last year, Maryland legislators drafted a law making “blocking the box”—the act of waiting in the middle of an intersection Read More

| DUI checkpoints are legal in the state of Maryland, however, there are several misconceptions and misunderstandings people have about these Read More

Quick Contact
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.